File- Nigeria national team File- Nigeria national team

AFCON: Iheanacho left out of Nigeria squad

Mon, Jun. 10, 2019
CAIRO – 10 June 2019: Nigeria national team manager, Gernot Rohr, dropped Leicester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho from the final squad that will participate in 2019 African Cup of Nations in Egypt between 21 June and 19 July.

Iheanacho, who left Manchester City in 2017, failed to establish himself as one of the key players in his team and was the subject of criticism from the national team manager.

The striker was named at the team’s provisional squad but he was ruled out of the final squad alongside Semi Ajayi.

On the other hand, the squad included the team’s biggest stars, John Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa, Wilfred Ndidi and Alex Iwobi.

Rohr’s chosen squad for the tournament consists of:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Middlesbrough, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain)

Nigeria plays in group B alongside Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi.
There are no comments on this article.

Leave a comment